List of High Court of India

The total number of High Courts in the country is 24. The Central Government has constituted three new high courts in the north-eastern states – Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya. The judges and chief justice is appointed by the President of India.

The Constitution, unlike in the case of the Supreme Court, does not fix any maximum number of judge for a High Court. (Allahabad High Court has 37 Judges while J&K High Court has only 5).

S.No Name Establishment Territorial Jurisdiction Seat
1 Bombay 1862 Maharastra, Dadar, Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman  Diu Mumbai(Banch at Nagpur,Panaji and Aurangab)
2. Kolkata 1862 West Bengal, Andman & Nicobar Islands Kolkata ( Bench of port Blair)
3. Madras 1862 Tamil Nadu & Pondicherry Chennai
4. Allahabad 1866 Utter Pradesh Allahabad (Bench at Lucknow)
5. Karnataka 1884 Karnataka Bangalore
6. Patna 1916 Bihar Patna
7. Jammu & Kashmir 1928 Jammu & Kashmir Sri Nagar & Jammu
8. Guwahati 1948 Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh Guwahati (Bench at Kohima,
9. Orissa 1948 Orissa Cuttack
10. Rajasthan 1949 Rajasthan Jodhpur ( Bench – Jaipur)
11. Andhra Pradesh 1954 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad
12. Madhya Pradesh 1956 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur (Bench –Indore , Gwalior)
13. Kerala 1958 Kerala & Lakshadweep Ernakulam
14. Gujarat 1960 Gujarat Ahmedabad
15. Delhi 1966 Delhi Delhi
16. Himachal Pradesh 1966 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
17. Punjab & Haryana 1975 Punjab, Haryana , Chandigarh Chandigarh
18. Sikkim 1975 Sikkim Gangtok
19. Chhattisgarh 2000 Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
20. Uttarakhand 2000 Uttarakhand Nainital
21. Jharkhand 2000 Jharkhand Ranchi
22. Tripura 2013 Tripura Agartala
23. Manipur 2013 Manipur Imphal
24. Meghalaya 2013 Meghalaya Shillong

Appointment of High Court Judge:

Every Judge of a Court is appointed by the president.In making appointment as High Court Judge, President can consult the Chief Justice of India , the Governor of the State and also the Chief and also the Chief Justice of that High Court. A Judge of the High Court can hold office until the age of 62 years. A High Court Judge can leave his office:
(1) By resignation in writing addressed to the president.
(2) By being appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court or being transferred to any other High Court by the president.
(3) By removal by the president.
(4) The Mode of removal of a Judge of the High Court is same as that of Judge of the Supreme Court.

The qualifications for being a Judge of the High Court are:

Be citizen of India. Not above 62 year of age. Must have held for at least 10 year a judicial office or experience of at least 10 years as advocate in a High Court in India. Salaries and allowances of the high court Judges are charged on the consolidated fund of the State .After retirement a permanent Judge of High Court can not plead or act in a Court of before any authority in India, expect the Supreme Court and a High Court in which he has not worked.